Kemper Auto Insurance Review [2022]

Kemper Insurance reviews find the company with an A- financial rating from A.M. Best. Our review finds that Kemper Insurance may offer competitive auto insurance rates, but that the Kemper Insurance claims process leaves much to be desired. Kemper auto insurance actually consists of three different companies: Kemper Preferred, Kemper Direct, and Kemper Specialty. These companies are separate but all operate under the Kemper Insurance umbrella.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Insurance Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insurance...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Leslie Kasperowicz
Farmers CSR for 4 Years Leslie Kasperowicz

UPDATED: Jun 16, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Kemper Insurance is a property and casualty insurance company that sells car insurance under multiple names, including Kemper Auto Insurance, Kemper Preferred, Kemper Direct, or simply Kemper. Founded in Chicago in 2000, the company has grown to insure more than six million policyholders across the United States. Kemper offers a combination of auto, renters, condo, and homeowners insurance in 28 states. In July 2018, Kemper acquired Infinity Insurance. Moving forward, Infinity Insurance products are sold under the Kemper Auto umbrella.

What’s Kemper Insurance History?

Kemper Direct Auto and Home Insurance is a direct to consumer auto insurance company that traces its history back to the year 2000 when Unitrin, Inc. founded an insurance company called Unitrin Direct. In 2002, Unitrin Direct acquired eKemper, then combined the business under Unitrin Direct. It wasn’t until 2011, however, that Unitrin officially began operating under the name Kemper Corporation. By 2012, Unitrin Direct was operating as Kemper Direct.

Today, Kemper Corporation is a publicly traded company (NYSE:KMPR), and Kemper Direct continues to sell car insurance to customers across the country. After acquiring Infinity Insurance in 2018, much of Kemper Direct’s business has been combined with Infinity Insurance. Today, Kemper seems to be moving the Infinity Insurance brand forward under the name Kemper Auto / Infinity. However, it’s possible that the Infinity Insurance name will be removed entirely in the near future.

Although headquartered in Chicago, Kemper Direct also has offices in Carlsbad, Scranton, Plymouth Meeting, Chattanooga, and Tampa. Today, the company is known for offering competitively-priced premiums, strong benefits, and special features for certain demographics.

Kemper car insurance actually consists of three separate companies, including Kemper Preferred, Kemper Direct, and Kemper Specialty. The three companies operate independently of one another but all exist under the Kemper umbrella. Kemper also owns four other insurance companies, including Infinity Insurance, Alliance United Insurance, Unitrin Auto Insurance, and Financial Indemnity Company.

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What Are Kemper Auto Insurance Rankings?

Kemper is a middle-of-the-road car insurance company in most categories. The company ranks about average with its competitors across the United States.

Since Kemper isn’t one of the largest auto insurance companies in the United States, the company isn’t ranked by J.D. Power, which typically ranks insurers based on claims satisfaction and other metrics.

However, financial strength rating agency A.M. Best has ranked Kemper Financial. The company received an “A-” or “Excellent” rating in January 2019, indicating that Kemper Financial and its subsidiaries like Kemper Auto Insurance should have no issue paying their liabilities.

What Makes Kemper Auto Insurance Unique?

Kemper offers many of the same car insurance policies and features as other major insurers across the United States. Some of the features that make this company unique include:

Only Available Through Insurance Agents: One thing that immediately distinguishes Kemper from its competitors is that quotes are not available online or over the phone. You cannot buy coverage directly from the company. You must work through one of Kemper’s independent car insurance agents. However, customers can still log into their accounts online and manage their claims easily. You can make a claim through your Kemper insurance agent or through the 24/7 online claim processing form.

Multiple Kemper Companies: Kemper has three core divisions, including Kemper Direct (which sells online-only insurance policies direct to consumers without using insurance agents), Kemper Specialty (which sells specialty car insurance in California and other states to high-risk or specialty drivers), and Kemper Preferred (which sells ordinary car insurance premiums through a network of insurance agents nationwide).

Competitive Pricing: Generally, Kemper is known for offering competitive pricing on its premiums. Most studies indicate that Kemper’s premiums are slightly lower than the average. However, due to the fact that Kemper consists of multiple insurance companies, rates vary widely across demographics and states.

Family-Oriented Discounts: Many of Kemper’s discounts revolve around families, including good student discounts, home insurance bundling discounts, and multi-policy discounts, making this company one of the best options for families.

Is Kemper a Good Car Insurance Company? Our Review

Kemper offers a wide range of insurance products through its family of insurance companies, including Kemper Preferred and Kemper Direct. Generally, the company is known for offering competitive prices on car insurance premiums. However, Kemper has poor to average claims satisfaction ratings overall.

It’s also important to note that while Kemper charges low rates to certain demographics, other demographics pay much higher rates. For example, Kemper is particularly popular among families who can access discounts for home/auto insurance bundling and good student discounts, but it’s more expensive for single adults, retirees, and others.

Your experience with Kemper will vary based on the number of discounts for which you qualify. For example, families with multiple students earning good grades will pay much cheaper rates with Kemper than a single adult. Families bundling home and auto insurance policies together can qualify for even further discounts. Other discounts are available for driver safety classes, students away at college, and more.

If you’re getting car insurance through Kemper Preferred, then you will only be able to purchase insurance through the company’s network of independent car insurance agents. You cannot buy coverage online or over the phone. However, you can buy Kemper Direct through the company’s online-only comparison form. And, since Kemper recently acquired Infinity Insurance, you can still request a quote through the Infinity Insurance website to get a Kemper auto insurance quote.

Overall, Kemper offers a standard range of car insurance products available at discount prices for certain drivers and higher prices for other drivers.

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What Are Kemper Auto Insurance Policies and Products?

Kemper Insurance offers a standard set of auto insurance coverage options along with a few additional options. Some of the features that make Kemper car insurance policies unique include:

Kemper Total: Kemper Total bundles multiple benefits for new car owners together into one convenient package. Kemper Total includes new car replacement (even if your vehicle is more than one year old) and increased rental car allotment while your vehicle is being repaired, among other features.

Parked Auto Protection: Kemper has a feature we don’t see with many other insurance companies. If your car is parked and unoccupied and struck by another vehicle, then your collision deductible is waived through the Kemper Parked Auto protection system.

Car Insurance Discounts: Kemper offers a range of discounts available to policyholders, including many of the same standard discounts seen with other providers. There are discounts for students away at school, for example, students achieving good grades, car safety features (anti-lock brakes, anti-theft device, etc.), multi-policy discounts, home and auto insurance discounts, and more.

Standard Coverage Options: Kemper offers a range of standard coverage options for car insurance policyholders, including liability (bodily injury and property damage), uninsured motorist, collision, comprehensive, and roadside assistance coverage.

Final Word

The Kemper family includes three separate brands, including Kemper Direct, Kemper Specialty, and Kemper Preferred. The three companies operate independently of one another, and pricing and plans vary widely between companies. Typically, Kemper Direct and Kemper Preferred are the two companies people refer to when buying Kemper insurance. Since the acquisition of Infinity Insurance in 2018, however, many Infinity customers have been added to the Kemper as part of the “Kemper Auto / Infinity” name.

Reviews
for Kemper Corporation

2.89 (205 reviews)
1
April 24, 2022

Karla_

Too expensive!

Kemper is a rip off. My payment goes up a few dollars after a few months and they just disregard it as ‘it’s just a few dollars’. Maybe I don’t have a few dollars and thought the agreed amount would stay the same. Be aware. I would never refer to them to anyone. As careful of a driver as I am I don’t feel comfortable they would cover damages from an accident.
1
April 2, 2022

Moquendo_

This company is not trustworthy! Look for another insurance

Beware of these people, I renewed my insurance policy with them, paid in full and then get a bill the next month for $904.00 more! I called and spoke with [REDACTED NAME] she basically said that my insurance increased because the change of address, BUT I was not informed of this at the time of renewal. Now I have to either come up with an extra $375 within a week or I’ll have to pay the $904. There are many companies, don’t go with them they ...
Beware of these people, I renewed my insurance policy with them, paid in full and then get a bill the next month for $904.00 more! I called and spoke with [REDACTED NAME] she basically said that my insurance increased because the change of address, BUT I was not informed of this at the time of renewal. Now I have to either come up with an extra $375 within a week or I’ll have to pay the $904. There are many companies, don’t go with them they will blind side you with extra charges!
1
July 10, 2021

sergeche

the worst insurance ever

If you don't want to loose your money, time and nerves never have any business with this company. My car was declared total loss more than 2 months ago, their adjustors and supervisors just never call you back. When you try to reach them, you never spend less than 40 minutes on the phone line,waiting for somebody to answer, you leave your information again and again and nobody calls your back. Next week I will go to the consumer protection agency...
If you don't want to loose your money, time and nerves never have any business with this company. My car was declared total loss more than 2 months ago, their adjustors and supervisors just never call you back. When you try to reach them, you never spend less than 40 minutes on the phone line,waiting for somebody to answer, you leave your information again and again and nobody calls your back. Next week I will go to the consumer protection agency, because people should be protected from dishonest business practices
1
July 6, 2021

Garrett_W

THE WORST INSURANCE COMPANY EVER - THEY WILL NOT HELP YOU

If you want a claim to be handled, at all, when you are 100% not at fault, stay far away from Kemper! I was involved in a crash 2/22/2021 and was 100% not at fault and Kemper still has not taken care of my claim. I have had three different adjusters who either stop responding or tell me "a manager will get back to me" (5 times now) or "it is being reviewed by the _____ team now" (3 times now) and nother ever happens. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS FO...
If you want a claim to be handled, at all, when you are 100% not at fault, stay far away from Kemper! I was involved in a crash 2/22/2021 and was 100% not at fault and Kemper still has not taken care of my claim. I have had three different adjusters who either stop responding or tell me "a manager will get back to me" (5 times now) or "it is being reviewed by the _____ team now" (3 times now) and nother ever happens. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS FOR A $2,000 CLAIM AND THEY WILL NOT HELP ME. THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH.
1
June 28, 2021

MsKendall

Worst Customer Service

I have been stranded for over 3 hours and continue to call Kemper claims for road side assistance. They initially had me on hold aware I was stranded on the side of the road then disconnected the call with no return call. It may be that their call service is in India; however it is horrible customer service. I have now called over 7 times and they continue to disconnect the call. While the rate is reasonable, you definitely get what you pay f...
I have been stranded for over 3 hours and continue to call Kemper claims for road side assistance. They initially had me on hold aware I was stranded on the side of the road then disconnected the call with no return call. It may be that their call service is in India; however it is horrible customer service. I have now called over 7 times and they continue to disconnect the call. While the rate is reasonable, you definitely get what you pay for. I will researching a new auto insurance and pay the slightly higher premiums.
1
June 17, 2021

RVo

Beware of Kemper crooks.

Simply a bunch of crooks. They WILL STEAL your money with no hesitation. So my catalytic converter was stolen. The Kemper crooks paid only $600+ instead of the $2500. Their adjuster had math problems and stole the money even on taxes. Nobody answers or returns calls. I hope I'll sue them in California.
1
June 16, 2021

Worried_Mom

Buyer Beware!!!

From experience with this insurance company i can tell they are not great. My son was in a car accident with someone who has Kemper as their insurance provider. I could have called my insurance company and had everything paid, however it was the other drivers fault and not my son. So it made sense to me to call Kemper instead. The accident happened on 4/6/2021 it took about a week and half to get the police report but once i had it i contacte...
From experience with this insurance company i can tell they are not great. My son was in a car accident with someone who has Kemper as their insurance provider. I could have called my insurance company and had everything paid, however it was the other drivers fault and not my son. So it made sense to me to call Kemper instead. The accident happened on 4/6/2021 it took about a week and half to get the police report but once i had it i contacted the adjuster [REDACTED NAME] at Kemper. My first phone call was 4/21/2021, i figured and insurance company is busy so i didn't expect a phone call back until Friday or Monday.. I never got a phone call back, as a matter of fact i called 5 times before i heard anything from anyone at Kemper. I have the tow company calling me and asking me what im doing with the car I spoke with the lady at the desk and she basically told me some insurance companies are scams and they will get out of not paying their customers. She also told me to write to the state and tell them about the insurance company so i did that and wouldn't you know, i had three people from the insurance company call me back. [REDACTED NAME] who was one of the people that called me back had the nerve to say she didn't have my information. And i told her i called you more then 5 times and left my information - her response just floured me "oh i haven't checked my messages"... Seriosuly!!!!! My son was in a car accident that left his car totalled and you didn't check your messages!!! I took the liberty to scan an send her all the information that i had, it turns out she no longer was my adjuster as my son was hurt and went to the hospital. Anyway - The accident happened back in April here is is June and i still have not resolved the cases nor have I received a check. My gut should have been to call and get a lawyer.... AND i still have time so i suggest anyone that has an issue with this insurance company get a lawyer.. Save yourself some headach and time.
1
May 19, 2021

Brijames1001

Do not do it

I got this insurance years ago because I needed an SR-22 and they offered affordable rates. Do yourself a favor and just pay a little more for a legitimate insurance company. This company has zero integrity and even less morality. They charge a $73 cancelation fee, which is totally normal for an insurance company to do. However, they won’t tell you that when you cancel. They will just send you to collections a year later without a phone call, w...
I got this insurance years ago because I needed an SR-22 and they offered affordable rates. Do yourself a favor and just pay a little more for a legitimate insurance company. This company has zero integrity and even less morality. They charge a $73 cancelation fee, which is totally normal for an insurance company to do. However, they won’t tell you that when you cancel. They will just send you to collections a year later without a phone call, without an email, nothing. And when I called them to ask why $73 showed up as a delinquency on my credit report, they at that point told me about the cancelation fee. And when I asked why they didn’t tell me that at time of cancelation, she said “because it’s not due at the time of cancelation”. I had to scratch my head over that one because if I’m calling to cancel my policy and no one mentions any fee to do so, even one due at a later date, then why would I ever call them back?! When I asked her why I didn’t get an email or a call or a letter about it, she said “that’s not our policy”... again scratching my head. So, your policy is to not tell someone they owe you money and then hurt their credit later? It’s like this company is a sore loser or a significant other that’s mad they got dumped, so they come after you later. Jokes aside, this company needs a new owner, one that’s not a pos. I’m literally in the process of trying to buy a home and my credit just dropped almost 40 points for a $73 payment.... screw you kemper.
2
April 5, 2021

Andrea_Hernandez

Worst Auto Insurance Company Ever!

It's been two months since the accident, and I call the adjuster of my case ( [REDACTED NAME] Mullady) every other day to inquire about my claim but no answer or call back within the next 24 hours as announced on her answering machine. I (mistakenly) thought that my case escalated when I requested to speak to a supervisor ([REDACTED NAME]) to whom I've been leaving several voice messages as well but no response either. Then, I managed to speak ...
It's been two months since the accident, and I call the adjuster of my case ( [REDACTED NAME] Mullady) every other day to inquire about my claim but no answer or call back within the next 24 hours as announced on her answering machine. I (mistakenly) thought that my case escalated when I requested to speak to a supervisor ([REDACTED NAME]) to whom I've been leaving several voice messages as well but no response either. Then, I managed to speak to a representative who was able to inform me that they were waiting on a letter from the lender, but I later called the bank, and they told me they had sent the letter on March 8. I insisted on trying to contact someone in the claims department, and now they gave me the number of a third person in the command chain but again, another answering machine, this time referring directly to another specialist, which is also not picking up the phone and requesting to leave a message. In summary, it is impossible to get in contact with an adjuster, a supervisor, and a Senior Manager in order to get a proper update of a claim.
1
January 13, 2021

THEROADDOG

KEMPER IS GARBABE!

Put in a towing claim. It took them close to 2 months to get back with me to tell me that they do not cover towing. Then, why am I paying all this money to them? SCREW YOU KEMPER!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.4autoinsurancequote.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption