Root Auto Insurance Review [2022]

With Root auto insurance available in over 30 states, you could save up to $75 per month ($900 per year) when you switch. If you’re ready to request a quote, you’ll need to download the Root app and sign up for a test drive, so Root can track your driving habits and calculate a quote. Root auto insurance is Better Business Bureau accredited with an A+, but only has a 1.31 out of five stars from customers and receives a high number of complaints (well above industry average).

UPDATED: Jun 16, 2022Fact Checked

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Insurance Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insurance...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Leslie Kasperowicz
Farmers CSR for 4 Years Leslie Kasperowicz

UPDATED: Jun 16, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 80 E. Rich Street Suite 500 43215
City: Columbus
State: OH
ZIP Code: 43215
Phone Number: 1-866-980-9431
Website: https://www.joinroot.com/
Year Founded: 2015
AM Best Rating: Not Available

We know shopping for and understanding auto insurance can be complicated and overwhelming. There is so much information, and with newer companies like Root auto insurance, it can be hard to find the details you need. We can help.

We’ve done the research for you and have all of the information on Root auto insurance. Who owns Root Insurance, and where can you get it? What are average Root auto insurance rates? How can you contact Root Insurance? We’ve got the answers to these and other questions in this Root auto insurance review. Read on for more.

Before we jump into this Root auto insurance review, take a minute to use your ZIP code in our rate comparison tool to get free auto insurance quotes from top companies.

What are average auto insurance rates from Root Insurance?

Root Insurance uses a combination of traditional metrics and your driving data, which is weighted more heavily than other factors, to generate quotes that reflect your driving behavior. As a result, the company doesn’t publish average rates. However, Root promises savings of up to $75 per month when you switch.

With the Root app, which all insured drivers must use, Root Insurance can continually track driving habits, calculate an initial quote, and recalculate rates at each policy renewal, which is every six months. This keeps driver rates as low as possible and ensures rates always accurately reflect current driving habits.

Where can you get Root Insurance?

You can buy Root auto insurance in more than 30 states, and the company is planning to expand into the remaining states in the future. This table lists the places in which you can currently buy Root Insurance. Take a look.

Root Insurance Availability by State
StateRoot Is Available
AlaskaNo
AlabamaNo
ArkansasYes
ArizonaYes
CaliforniaYes
ColoradoYes
ConnecticutYes
District of ColumbiaNo
DelawareYes
FloridaNo
GeorgiaYes
HawaiiNo
IowaYes
IdahoNo
IllinoisYes
IndianaYes
KansasNo
KentuckyYes
LouisianaYes
MaineNo
MarylandYes
MassachusettsNo
MichiganNo
MinnesotaNo
MissouriYes
MississippiYes
MontanaYes
North CarolinaNo
North DakotaYes
NebraskaYes
New HampshireNo
New JerseyNo
New MexicoYes
NevadaYes
New YorkNo
OhioYes
OklahomaYes
OregonYes
PennsylvaniaYes
Rhode IslandNo
South CarolinaYes
South DakotaNo
TennesseeYes
TexasYes
UtahYes
VirginiaYes
VermontNo
WashingtonNo
West VirginiaYes
WisconsinYes
WyomingNo
Get Your Rates Quote Now
Compare RatesStart Now →

Now that you know where you can buy Root Insurance and how Root auto insurance quotes are generated keep reading for more information you can use to decide if Root is right for you.

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What are the company ratings for Root Insurance?

If you’re ready to seriously compare insurance companies as a part of your coverage shopping process, we recommend looking beyond just coverage options and average rates.

It’s essential to look at factors like customer service and financial stability to make sure you’re choosing a company that has a reputation for good customer service and is able to pay out on claims.

We pulled data from the Better Business Bureau (BBB) to look at Root Insurance’s customer service. On the positive side, the BBB accredits Root with an A+. However, the customer reviews aren’t quite so positive. The BBB reports a 1.31 out of five stars from Root customers.

To see if this poor customer rating data was a trend for Root, we also looked at the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) complaint data. And unfortunately, we found similar information. This table summarizes the data we found. Take a look.

NAIC Root Insurance Complaint Data
Complaint Data201820192020
Total Number of Complaints86850
Annual Premiums$106,371,642$451,058,558$616,842,050
Share of Premiums U.S. Market0.01%0.03%0.04%
Share of Complaints in the U.S. Market0.01%0.12%0.15%
Complaint Index1.664.554
Get Your Rates Quote Now
Compare RatesStart Now →

What do all these numbers mean? The NAIC represents the industry average for complaints with the number one. We can then review the NAIC’s collected individual company complaint index and compare it to the average. With this in mind, it’s clear that Root Insurance’s complaint index has dramatically increased over the past three years.

Between 2018 and 2019, the complaint index nearly tripled, but so did the company’s growth (take a look at the change in annual premiums). There is some slight improvement from 2019 to 2020, as the complaint index decreased from 4.55 to four while the company grew and the total number of complaints dropped. But a complaint index of four is still high.

Finally, financial stability is a measure of whether or not companies will be able to pay out on any outstanding obligations like claims. One of the best resources for this information is A.M. Best, a financial rating institution focused on the insurance agency. However, A.M. Best hasn’t yet rated Root Insurance.

What coverage options does Root Insurance offer?

Coverage options are important when you’re shopping for a policy. Root offers standard options, including:

  • Liability coverage
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
  • Collision coverage
  • Comprehensive coverage

In addition to basic auto insurance coverage, Root has a few add-ons customers can choose to include in their policies.

Roadside assistance is automatically added to all policies at no charge to you.

With Root’s roadside assistance coverage, you’ll get up to $100 in coverage per incident for things like a flat tire, a dead battery, etc. You are limited to three incidents per six-month policy term, so if you have a fourth incident or the cost of a covered incident exceeds $100, you’ll be responsible for paying out of pocket.

In addition to free roadside assistance coverage, you’ll also have the option to add rental reimbursement to your policy for a fee. This coverage will enable you to rent a car or call Lyft when your vehicle is in the shop for repairs after a covered incident.

Finally, for insured drivers, you can get an SR-22 form through the Root app, should you need one.

Are there any discounts or other perks available with a Root Insurance policy?

You won’t get many discounts from Root because the company already applies most of the commonly offered ones to rates as a part of its goal of keeping rates as affordable as possible. One of the few discounts currently offered is a multi-policy discount, which applies if you have more than one auto insurance policy with Root Insurance.

As far as perks, Root Insurance offers a couple of different types to customers. Specifically, you can:

  • Earn free Lyft credits in certain states, which can be applied on various holidays
  • Earn cash for referring friends and family to the company

Keep reading for information on how to buy a Root Insurance policy.

How do you buy and manage a Root Insurance policy?

As we’ve noted a few times already, Root uses individual driver behavior to calculate insurance quotes. How is this done? Through the company app, which you’re required to download when you request a quote. After you’ve downloaded the app, you’ll be directed to sign up for a test drive and enable the app to connect to the GPS on your phone.

For three to four weeks, Root will track your driving behavior as a part of this test drive. Relevant data include how fast you drive, where and when you drive, and how hard you brake and turn. With the collected data, Root will calculate a quote that accurately reflects how you drive.

However, you should be aware that Root has a reputation for refusing to cover drivers who are considered too high risk, so be careful how you drive during the test drive.

One of the benefits of Root’s refusal to cover high-risk drivers is that it helps keep overall rates lower because of the lower risk to the company.

Once you’re insured by Root, you’ll be required to continue to use the Root app so the company can consistently gather driving habit data and keep your rates up-to-date. In addition, you’ll be able to use the app to pay your bills, file claims, make adjustments to your policy, and more.

The Root app tracking function is always on to ensure no data is missed. But the company uses a machine-learning algorithm to filter out tracking data collected when you aren’t driving. That way, you won’t be penalized for someone else’s poor driving habits.

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

How do you file a claim with Root Insurance?

Root Insurance works to offer hassle-free claims filing to drivers through the Root app or by calling the company customer service line, 866-980-9431. In support of this goal, the company promises an average of a three-minute claims-filing process with only a few steps.

You’ll need to start the process either through the app or by calling customer service before you leave the site of the accident. If you call customer service, the company representative will walk you through the necessary steps. With the app, you’ll need to:

  • Gather all the relevant information about the type of accident
  • Photograph the scene of the accident (get as many angles and shots of the damage as possible)
  • Submit all the information and photos through the app

During the review process, Root will reach out to you with questions or if any extra information is needed to finalize your claim. You can review the status of your claim at any time through the Root app. If your claim is approved, you can request either an electronic deposit or a check.

What are the pros and cons of Root Insurance?

Now that we’ve provided you with plenty of information about Root Insurance, what does it all mean? Your specific auto insurance needs may vary from someone else’s. So with that in mind, we’ve compiled a brief list of pros and cons to help summarize the data we’ve provided and give you an idea of whether or not Root Insurance could meet your needs.

Pros:

  • If you need an SR-22 form, you can get one through the Root app
  • You can manage your entire insurance policy through the Root app
  • Root uses your driving habits to generate your rates, meaning rates reflect how you (and not anyone else) drives

Cons:

  • You can’t get Root in every state (it’s available in about 30 at this time)
  • Root has received almost three times the national average for complaints in the past couple of years
  • You may not be able to buy insurance from Root if you’re too high-risk

It’s a good idea to put together your own pros and cons list, taking into consideration your specific situation, coverage needs, etc., to see if it differs from ours.

What else should you know about Root Insurance?

Before he co-founded Root Insurance with Dan Manges, Alex Timm spent several years working in the auto insurance industry and was dissatisfied with what he saw as an unfair approach to auto insurance rates.

Out of this experience and his frustration with the currently available insurance options, Root Insurance was born with the goal of offering a unique and equitable approach to auto insurance.

The key to Root Insurance’s offerings is the company app. As we noted in earlier sections, the Root app is a way to track your driving behavior, which is then used to generate a quote based on your driving data (rather than on generalities). However, you can also use it to manage your policy.

You can download the Root app for free from the Google Play store and the App store, and to date, the Root app has a 3.5 out of five-star customer rating.

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Root Auto Insurance: The Bottom Line

While Root auto insurance doesn’t receive the best reviews from customers (1.31 out of five stars as reported by the BBB) and receives well above the industry average in complaints, you can save up to $900 on your rates when you switch.

In addition, because of the usage-based approach the company uses to generate quotes, your rates will accurately reflect your driving habits. The continuous tracking through the Root app enables the company to maintain accurate quotes for you at each policy renewal as well.

When you’re shopping for coverage, whether you’re considering Root auto insurance or not, we know you want to save. And the best way to save on your rates is to comparison shop. You can get started right now by entering your ZIP code in the tool on this page to get free auto insurance quotes from companies in your area.

Reviews
for Root Insurance

3.23 (593 reviews)
1
October 26, 2022

Roxy_81

Don’t use this company

After being with Root for a year and having a clean driving record they increased my insurance by $90 with no legitimate reason
1
October 17, 2022

bheimple

Terrible Customer Service & No Transparency

I would not suggest if customer service is something you look for, I would highly suggest looking somewhere else. They also couldn't care less about your insurance score and the damage to that score by picking up and dropping you within a month of issuing you a policy. They utilize an app to see if you are eligible to continue using their service, but can't talk about the data they have received, even when the application is saying that you have ...
I would not suggest if customer service is something you look for, I would highly suggest looking somewhere else. They also couldn't care less about your insurance score and the damage to that score by picking up and dropping you within a month of issuing you a policy. They utilize an app to see if you are eligible to continue using their service, but can't talk about the data they have received, even when the application is saying that you have been a safe driver. Furthermore, they don't empower any of their employees to know anything about the policy you hold and if you want to speak with a supervisor for clarification, they will give you a callback at a later date, but still are extremely vague and can't answer policy questions. Terrible business model and horrible transparency about what you are signing up for. I guess you get what you pay for.
2
September 20, 2022

Jbk

All honeymoons come to an end

Root started out as a great priced alternative to other insurances. However, after nearly 3 years with them the illusion has worn off. Let me start by saying my driving record is squeaky clean. I’ve had two tickets my whole life: back in the late 90s as a teen for no seatbelt; early 2000s for a headlight out (a fix-it ticket.) Only this year has Root really messed me around. I started off the year paying $139 for near maximum coverage. In...
Root started out as a great priced alternative to other insurances. However, after nearly 3 years with them the illusion has worn off. Let me start by saying my driving record is squeaky clean. I’ve had two tickets my whole life: back in the late 90s as a teen for no seatbelt; early 2000s for a headlight out (a fix-it ticket.) Only this year has Root really messed me around. I started off the year paying $139 for near maximum coverage. In April of ‘22 they kicked my cost up to $161. Now for renewal in October they want to spike it again to $190. Remember, I have a perfect driving record. Two things happened that truly irk me. First, they won’t negotiate. They just copy/paste their FAQs and email you back when you ask why the rate change. Second, more frustratingly, they sneak the info of premium increase into their cheer-filled email in tiny print so you can accidentally overlook it. Seems immensely shady to me. But with the power of the internet I’ll be happily sharing this everywhere I can because I think it’s bad business practice.
1
August 31, 2022

Kevstuh

Root

I found a new insurance company a c'pla years ago. Company name: Root insurance. They seemed to have fairly low rates so I gave them a try. What a mistake! On August 11 2022, thieves helped themselves to my catalytic converter. I called police and filed a statement. The adjuster appeared to be on the case. He said a check was sent out on the 15th and it would take 7-10 days to get to my mechanic. The mechanic showed me the part. He had it deliver...
I found a new insurance company a c'pla years ago. Company name: Root insurance. They seemed to have fairly low rates so I gave them a try. What a mistake! On August 11 2022, thieves helped themselves to my catalytic converter. I called police and filed a statement. The adjuster appeared to be on the case. He said a check was sent out on the 15th and it would take 7-10 days to get to my mechanic. The mechanic showed me the part. He had it delivered to his shop. The entire muffler with converter attached. However he never got the check and as I expected, he wouldn't do the work until he was paid. As it should be. Now, I'm not wealthy. I can't afford to take 2 days off work, much less 10! Other insurance companies I've been with tend to settle claims much faster. But this company obviously doesn't want to pay because they've made it clear they don't care. My premiums are paid on time every time since I have auto-pay. All I can say is if you are a Root customer, cancel that policy before an incident happens. Their policy is: take your money and avoid paying claims. This is the worst insurance company on planet earth! Run!
1
August 26, 2022

AngryAtRoot

They will milk you for your money

My family and I were driving home from vacation, in the middle of the night in the mountains of Utah, when we hit a whole semi tire laying in the middle of the road. It ripped up my front bumper and simultaneously debris flew up and hit my windshield, cracking it. But root claims that they can't relate my windshield being cracked to this accident and required me to file a second claim and pay my deductable AGAIN to get the windshield damage fixed...
My family and I were driving home from vacation, in the middle of the night in the mountains of Utah, when we hit a whole semi tire laying in the middle of the road. It ripped up my front bumper and simultaneously debris flew up and hit my windshield, cracking it. But root claims that they can't relate my windshield being cracked to this accident and required me to file a second claim and pay my deductable AGAIN to get the windshield damage fixed. Additionally, after just one claim they increased my premium by over 50%. Absolutely unreal. I switched to progressive who are much more helpful and friendly, and CHEAPER. I will never come back to root and will always tell people to choose different insurance. This company is scum.
5
August 24, 2022

Mandyrm1989

Great company to use

Root is awesome. I hit a deer and the agent was so helpful. They let me choose where I wanted to take my car and sent the company a check within days of my claim. They also provide free roadside assistance. I have used roadside multiple times with no problems. I definitely recommend.
3
August 13, 2022

McKnightC_

Disappointed

Overall root is okay... I am very disappointed that i clicked the link for the referral program and for some reason it didn't connect and after i finished the test drive neither one of us got the 25 incentive and when i reach out to support they said that they would not honor it.. admittedly i won't refer anyone to root because of that.. it is very misleading
1
August 4, 2022

Terry75638

Cheaper to pay out of pocket than to use root

I was happy with root until I got ran off the road by another vehicle and my glass got busted. Called them and they transferred me to Safelite. Now Safelite wanted $500 to fix my glass. Mind you I have full coverage with uninsured motorist. I told Safelite I can get it fixed at eagle glass for $200. Not happy with either root or Safelite. I pay $214 month and it cost me more to use root insurance when something happens. I believe they just lo...
I was happy with root until I got ran off the road by another vehicle and my glass got busted. Called them and they transferred me to Safelite. Now Safelite wanted $500 to fix my glass. Mind you I have full coverage with uninsured motorist. I told Safelite I can get it fixed at eagle glass for $200. Not happy with either root or Safelite. I pay $214 month and it cost me more to use root insurance when something happens. I believe they just lost a customer
5
July 24, 2022

Jotickles

Root is the absolute best

Fast and easy and so much cheaper than progressive. I love you so much. You’re saving me financially.
1
July 14, 2022

Cfryer

Laughable money "saving" insurance

Thought this would be a great way to go since the initial quote came in under 100/month. That was the first month only, ever moth since has been more and more expensive. I just cancelled today as the policy is now 275/month, I should note here my wife and I are both over 30 with zero accidents and tickets on our record. The app they tell you to install to get a better rate is a scam to get more money out of you... It calculates numbers as if I we...
Thought this would be a great way to go since the initial quote came in under 100/month. That was the first month only, ever moth since has been more and more expensive. I just cancelled today as the policy is now 275/month, I should note here my wife and I are both over 30 with zero accidents and tickets on our record. The app they tell you to install to get a better rate is a scam to get more money out of you... It calculates numbers as if I were driving when I'm not and if you get in a vehicle that you aren't driving it'll still track you and ding you for the other person's driving. I'd hate to see what my bill would be if I had taken my phone to a theme park. All in all root is a joke and a scam, look elsewhere for way better deals and coverage, for their main ad tactic being we save you the most... They failed miserably!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.4autoinsurancequote.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption